HEAD TO HEAD · PRICING AND TERMS · VERIFIED 2026-10-12
TaxDome vs Canopy: what each publishes.
TaxDome publishes $800 to $1,200 per year; Canopy publishes $74 to $149 per user per month. TaxDome: All plans are billed upfront, whether you choose a 1-year, 2-year, or 3-year subscription'; upgrades prorated for the remainder of the term; cancellation terms not stated. Canopy: billed annually; 'you can move between tiers'; cancellation terms not stated. Both read on October 12, 2026.
Facts from both vendors' own pages, read the same day, with third-party figures marked as reported. No ranking and no winner: the right one depends on your crew size, whether you do insurance work, and whether you will sign a contract.
TaxDomepublished
- What it is
- all-in-one practice management for tax, bookkeeping and accounting firms (CRM, client portal and mobile app, workflow, documents, e-signatures, proposals and payments) · built for accounting and bookkeeping firms
- Pricing
- Essentials (solo users only): $800 / year, per seat, 1-year commitment
Pro: $1,000 / year, per seat, 1-year commitment
Business: $1,200 / year, per seat, 1-year commitment
25+ seats: request a quote - Trial
- not stated on the pricing page (CTA is 'Request demo')
- Contract
- 'All plans are billed upfront, whether you choose a 1-year, 2-year, or 3-year subscription'; upgrades prorated for the remainder of the term; cancellation terms not stated
- Fees
- none stated; client import assistance included on Business
- Detail
- TaxDome cost page · vendor pricing page
Canopypublished
- What it is
- modular accounting practice management (client management, documents, workflow, time and billing, tax resolution) · built for accounting and bookkeeping firms
- Pricing
- Standard: $74 / user per month, billed annually
Plus: $109 / user per month, billed annually
Premium: $149 / user per month, billed annually
Enterprise: contact sales - Reported (not the vendor)
- $1,704 per user per year — TaxDome (a competitor), reported in the cost calculator on its pricing page, undated, read 2026-10-12
- Trial
- no self-serve trial: 'Schedule a demo and talk with a sales representative to set up a trial'
- Contract
- billed annually; 'you can move between tiers'; cancellation terms not stated
- Fees
- none stated; payments: cards 3.30% + $0.20, ACH 1% (cap $10)
- Detail
- Canopy cost page · vendor pricing page
Which is cheaper, TaxDome or Canopy?
On published prices read October 12, 2026: TaxDome $800 to $1,200, Canopy $74 to $149. Compare the user caps and add-ons before deciding; a lower base price with per-user fees can cost more for a crew.
Does TaxDome or Canopy require a contract?
TaxDome: 'All plans are billed upfront, whether you choose a 1-year, 2-year, or 3-year subscription'; upgrades prorated for the remainder of the term; cancellation terms not stated. Canopy: billed annually; 'you can move between tiers'; cancellation terms not stated.
Do TaxDome and Canopy offer free trials?
TaxDome: not stated on the pricing page (CTA is 'Request demo'). Canopy: no self-serve trial: 'Schedule a demo and talk with a sales representative to set up a trial'.
Whichever you choose, Practice OS sits beside it: a Notion workspace, six n8n automations and eight Claude skills for the owner-side work a CRM leaves to you — lead triage, the storm-canvass brief, the supplement packet, after-service follow-up, the weekly owner report. $197 one-time. Practice OS · all software costs.
Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.
A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete Practice OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.
SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY