STATE REFERENCE · CPA FIRM & CPE
Iowa: CPE, firm permit and peer review rules for CPAs.
In Iowa, CPE: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: the Iowa Legislature site (www.legis.iowa.gov), which hosts 481 IAC Chapter 1030 and Iowa Code chapter 542… Firm permit: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.7 and 481 IAC Chapter 1027, the sources for the permit obligation… Peer review: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.7(8) and 481 IAC Chapter 1031 could not be opened (www.legis.iowa.gov unreachable). Verified 2026-10-14; cites: Iowa Code chapter 542 and 481 IAC Chapters 1021–1040 (linked from the DIAL accountants page; the DIAL forms page links 481 IAC Chapter…).
This page lists what the Iowa board of accountancy publishes for a CPA and a CPA firm: CPE hours and the reporting period, the ethics requirement, whether a firm permit or registration is required, whether peer review is required, the licence renewal cycle, and whether an out-of-state CPA may practise under a practice privilege.
It is built for owners of small accounting and bookkeeping firms, especially those licensed in one state and serving clients in another. Every entry is a snapshot of what the cited source published on the verification date; it is a research starting point, not licensing advice.
Iowa, field by field.
- Board of accountancy
- Iowa Accountancy Examining Board (Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing)
- CPE hours & reporting period
- Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: the Iowa Legislature site (www.legis.iowa.gov), which hosts 481 IAC Chapter 1030 and Iowa Code chapter 542, did not resolve and refused TCP connections throughout this verification, so the 120-hour three-year figure, the self-selected December 31 or June 30 measurement date and the phase-in schedule for new licensees could not be checked. Official pages that did load: the Board's CPE Reporting Form (DIAL, media/5031) refers readers to 'Chapter 1030 of the Administrative Rules IAC481 on reporting CPE' and lists 'Individual self study (50% limit of CPE)', 'Teaching/discussion leader/speaker (2 hours prep/1 hour teaching – 50% limit of CPE)', 'Books and/or articles published (25% limit of CPE or 30 hours maximum)', 'SSARS-8 hrs required every 3 years for compilation services' and 'Ethics – 4 hrs required every 3 years'; it quotes 481 IAC 1030.5(5): 'A licensee is deemed to have completed continuing education under this rule if, for the period that the licensee is a resident of another state or district having a continuing professional education obligation, the licensee met the resident state's mandatory continuing professional education.' The DIAL accountants page states that continuing education is required for active renewal and that the specific requirements are set in board rules; it does not state the hours.
- Ethics CPE requirement
- 4 hours every three years, per the Board's CPE Reporting Form (DIAL, media/5031): 'Ethics – 4 hrs required every 3 years'. The rule text (481 IAC 1030.7) and the related 8-hour financial-statement-presentation rule for licensees who supervise compilation services: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14 (www.legis.iowa.gov). Whether an Iowa-specific course is required: Not stated on the reachable Board pages.
- CPA firm permit / registration
- Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.7 and 481 IAC Chapter 1027, the sources for the permit obligation, the majority-ownership rule and the June 30 annual renewal, are hosted only on www.legis.iowa.gov, which did not respond; the DIAL accountants page does not mention firm permits.
- Peer review requirement
- Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.7(8) and 481 IAC Chapter 1031 could not be opened (www.legis.iowa.gov unreachable); the DIAL accountants page does not mention peer review.
- Licence renewal cycle
- Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14 for the June 30 expiration date (481 IAC 1025.3(1) and Iowa Code §542.6(2) are hosted only on www.legis.iowa.gov). The DIAL accountants page states: 'Approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date, notice may be sent' to the email address on record; a licensee may renew to active status, renew to inactive status or let the licence lapse; 'Licensees who hold inactive licenses are prohibited from practicing in Iowa until the license has been reactivated.'; reactivating a lapsed licence requires an application, continuing education completion certificates and fees. The page does not state the renewal date.
- Mobility / practice privilege
- Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.20 (practice privilege) is hosted only on www.legis.iowa.gov, which did not respond, and no reachable Board page states the practice-privilege conditions.
Download Iowa's row (CSV) · all 51 states (CSV) · CC BY 4.0, attribute Vertical OS and link to this page.
Where this comes from.
Regulator. Iowa Accountancy Examining Board (Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing)
Cited. Iowa Code chapter 542 and 481 IAC Chapters 1021–1040 (linked from the DIAL accountants page; the DIAL forms page links 481 IAC Chapter 1024); 481 IAC Chapter 1030 and 1030.5(5) (as quoted on the Board's CPE Reporting Form). The section-level cites in the research row — Iowa Code §542.6, §542.7, §542.19, §542.20; 481 IAC 1025.3, 1025.4, 1027.1, 1027.4, 1030.5, 1030.7, 1031.1–1031.5 — could not be confirmed on 2026-10-14 because www.legis.iowa.gov was unreachable.
Status. Partially verified — some rules cited, last verified 2026-10-14. Start with the board link — it is the primary source. The CPE and firm-permit rows are the two that carry a penalty when missed, so read both against the cited rule before the next renewal. The verification status says how much of the row was read at the source.
What to confirm.
Re-fetch every legis.iowa.gov source once the site is reachable (on 2026-10-14 it failed DNS resolution and TCP connections on ports 80 and 443 over repeated attempts across about an hour): Iowa Code §§542.6, 542.7, 542.19, 542.20 and 481 IAC Chapters 1025, 1027, 1030 and 1031, to confirm the 120-hour three-year CPE rule and its December 31 or June 30 measurement date, the 8-hour financial-statement-presentation rule, the firm permit obligation and June 30 annual renewal, the three-year peer review cycle, the no-notice practice privilege, and the 2025 Acts ch. 40 amendments to §542.20 that the researcher reported as effective July 1, 2026. Confirm the renewal date and the self-selected CPE date on the board's My Iowa PLB renewal screen; the DIAL page does not state them.
Iowa, answered from the row.
How many CPE hours does Iowa require, and over what period?
Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: the Iowa Legislature site (www.legis.iowa.gov), which hosts 481 IAC Chapter 1030 and Iowa Code chapter 542, did not resolve and refused TCP connections throughout this verification, so the 120-hour three-year figure, the self-selected December 31 or June 30 measurement date and the phase-in schedule for new licensees could not be checked. Official pages that did load: the Board's CPE Reporting Form (DIAL, media/5031) refers readers to 'Chapter 1030 of the Administrative Rules IAC481 on reporting CPE' and lists 'Individual self study (50% limit of CPE)', 'Teaching/discussion leader/speaker (2 hours prep/1 hour teaching – 50% limit of CPE)', 'Books and/or articles published (25% limit of CPE or 30 hours maximum)', 'SSARS-8 hrs required every 3 years for compilation services' and 'Ethics – 4 hrs required every 3 years'; it quotes 481 IAC 1030.5(5): 'A licensee is deemed to have completed continuing education under this rule if, for the period that the licensee is a resident of another state or district having a continuing professional education obligation, the licensee met the resident state's mandatory continuing professional education.' The DIAL accountants page states that continuing education is required for active renewal and that the specific requirements are set in board rules; it does not state the hours.
Does Iowa require ethics CPE?
4 hours every three years, per the Board's CPE Reporting Form (DIAL, media/5031): 'Ethics – 4 hrs required every 3 years'. The rule text (481 IAC 1030.7) and the related 8-hour financial-statement-presentation rule for licensees who supervise compilation services: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14 (www.legis.iowa.gov). Whether an Iowa-specific course is required: Not stated on the reachable Board pages.
Does Iowa require a CPA firm permit or registration?
Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.7 and 481 IAC Chapter 1027, the sources for the permit obligation, the majority-ownership rule and the June 30 annual renewal, are hosted only on www.legis.iowa.gov, which did not respond; the DIAL accountants page does not mention firm permits.
Is peer review required for CPA firms in Iowa?
Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.7(8) and 481 IAC Chapter 1031 could not be opened (www.legis.iowa.gov unreachable); the DIAL accountants page does not mention peer review.
How often is a CPA licence renewed in Iowa?
Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14 for the June 30 expiration date (481 IAC 1025.3(1) and Iowa Code §542.6(2) are hosted only on www.legis.iowa.gov). The DIAL accountants page states: 'Approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date, notice may be sent' to the email address on record; a licensee may renew to active status, renew to inactive status or let the licence lapse; 'Licensees who hold inactive licenses are prohibited from practicing in Iowa until the license has been reactivated.'; reactivating a lapsed licence requires an application, continuing education completion certificates and fees. The page does not state the renewal date.
Can an out-of-state CPA practise in Iowa without a licence?
Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14: Iowa Code §542.20 (practice privilege) is hosted only on www.legis.iowa.gov, which did not respond, and no reachable Board page states the practice-privilege conditions.
Not legal or licensing advice. Every row is a dated snapshot of published sources; boards change CPE rules, reporting periods and firm-permit requirements. Confirm every entry with the named board before relying on it.
This table is free, open data.
Every row is CC BY 4.0: download the CSV, embed the lookup, or cite the page. It is not part of Practice OS; the product is the system around work like this — a Notion workspace, working automations and Claude skills for the owner-side work your software doesn't do.
Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.
A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete Practice OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.
SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY